Blood type

« Back to Glossary Index

The specific category of blood each individual has, consisting of four major types; O, A, B, and AB. These types are based on the presence or absence of specific antigens in red blood cells.

Once doctors locate a heart donor, it is matched with candidates based on their blood type, body size and medical condition.

Pin It on Pinterest